Who We Are

The Red Deer River Watershed Alliance (RDRWA) is a multi-sector, non-profit organization that promotes the good use and proper management of water within the Red Deer River watershed.

Our Vision
The Red Deer River watershed will be healthy, dynamic and sustainable through the efforts of the entire community.

Our Mission
The Red Deer River Watershed Alliance is an inclusive, collaborative partnership that promotes a healthy watershed to ensure a legacy of ecological integrity and economic sustainability.

Our Goals

  • Provide a forum for information exchange and dialogue
  • Raise awareness on watershed issues
  • Promote the use of best practices and integrated management of land and water resources


The Red Deer River Watershed Alliance was formed by a large group of community stakeholders that are working together for the betterment of the Red Deer River watershed. The initial meetings in 2003 and spring of 2004 included representatives from 27 "stakeholder" groups. Fifteen community open-house meetings were attended by 255 people representing 68 different organizations or themselves (108 people). The Red Deer River Watershed Alliance was formally established and the formation meeting held in Trochu on June 15, 2005 with 62 people in attendance. The Alliance was incorporated as a Society on August 25, 2005.

In recognition of its collaborative approach toward watershed management, the Red Deer River Watershed Alliance was granted the status of the Watershed Planning and Advisory Council (WPAC) by Alberta Environment as part of the province's "Water for Life" initiative. This was granted on September 9, 2005.

Board of Directors

The Red Deer River Watershed Alliance Board of Directors consists of no less than 9 and no more than 17 Directors and the Past Chairman. Directors are elected for a two-year term by the membership. Members are encouraged to seek election to the Board of Directors within his or her membership category.


The 2017/2018 Red Deer River Watershed Alliance Board Executive is:

Chair: Jean Bota
Vice-Chair: Kent Dyck
Treasurer: Natasha Wright

The 2017/2018 Red Deer River Watershed Alliance Board of Directors are:

Environment / Stewardship

Dale Christian - Butte Action Committee
Alia Snively- Nature Conservancy of Canada 

Agriculture / Business / Industry

JoAnne Volk- Repsol Canada 
Chris Israelson - Alberta Beef Producers
Kent Dyck - NOVA Chemicals

Municipal Government

Brenda Knight - Wheatland County
Dianne Wyntjes - City of Red Deer
Al Campbell - Town of Stettler
Jean Bota - Red Deer County

Provincial / Federal / Academic

Anna Lewis 
Bradon Leask - Alberta Agriculture & Rural Development
Mike Iwanyshyn - Natural Resources Conservation Board

Member at Large

Natasha Wright
Gates Bilodeau 

First Nations / Aboriginal

Donna Hovsepian 
Jennifer Poor 


Phil Boehme -Alberta Environment & Parks 


The RDRWA wishes to thank the following for their generous support in 2014/15:

Thank you for generous support in 2014/15/16 of the RDRWA Watershed Ambassador Program:

Menu IconMain menuContent IconContent